Saturday, December 24, 2016

Morrissey - Live @ UCLA Pauley Pavilion, Los Angeles, USA, 01-11-1991

NOTE: Following "Driving Your Girlfriend Home" Morrissey started introducing the new and yet-to-be-released composition "We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful": "This song is new, and it's called... it's called..." but he never manged to finish what he meant to say. Someone had a word with him and he then announced "I think we're being told that this concert has to end... well maybe it can continue if we all stand really still..." The band still launched into the planned song, but not before Morrissey successfully introduced it: "This song is new, it's called 'We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful'."
They were unfortunately not able to finish it. A few verses into the song Morrissey was escorted off stage. The band continued it as an instrumental for a few bars, then ended it and followed Morrissey. The manager came on stage and announced that the concert would continue only if people would cooperate and help settle everything down. However the crowd kept chanting and didn't collaborate to the authorities' satisfaction. There were too many injured people and the venue management was afraid there would be more if Morrissey went back on, even if the fans calmed down. So after one hour the concert was finally stopped and people were asked to leave the venue. Many fans were obviously upset by this and a few set off fire alarms on their way out. Others rushed to the merchandise stand and stole a reported few thousand dollars of t-shirts, programmes and posters. More people were injured in this melée.
It was reported the next day that 48 fans had been injured and that UCLA officials and a concert promoter blamed Morrissey, saying he should not have urged the audience to move in closer.
Morrissey later offered to pay for all the injuries and hired someone to distribute the hundreds of shoes that were found in the venue after the riot.

Source: FM Broadcast
Sound Quality: 10/10

1.     November Spawned A Monster
2.     Alsatian Cousin
3.     Our Frank
4.     The Loop
5.     King Leer
6.     Sister I'm A Poet
7.     Piccadilly Palare
8.     Driving Your Girlfriend Home
9.     We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful
10.  (banter - Riot 1)
11.  (banter - Riot 2)
12.  (banter - Riot 3)

Support the artist by buying their records and attending their shows.

320kbps mp3

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...